« x »

WAM SONG OF THE YEAR Winners announced

No surprises here. WAM have announced the winners of their annual WAM Song of the Year competition at the Fly By Night Club last night, with Stella Donnelly taking out the grand prize for her universally acclaimed ode to victim blaming, Boys Will Be Boys

Other winners include John Bennett, who took home 2 awards, Farraday’s Cage, Figurehead, Feels, The Little Lord Street Band, Coin Banks, Helen Shanahan, Intenso, Akolkol Dastan Gesa, Harry Mitchell, Carus Thompson, The Bob Gordons, Bolt Gun, and J.F.K.

This year’s biggest celebration of homegrown tunes saw over $45,000 in prizes distributed throughout the evening.

WAM CEO Mike Harris said, “WAM Song of the Year is an important opportunity for artists to showcase their songwriting skills and have their music considered by experienced industry professionals. As ever we are astounded by the quality and breadth of entries, across all genres. Grand Prize winner Stella Donnelly is a WA artist on the move; one with an international profile already. Congratulations to Stella and all the other winners, finalists and all the entrants for talking the time to create the music that makes our local scene so vibrant.”

« x »