WAM SONG OF THE YEAR And the nominees are…

WAM have announced the nominees for their annual WAM Song of the Year competition for 2017/18. There is over $45000 worth of prizes to be won across 16 categories. The winners will be announced at the WAM Song of the Year Awards Party at Fly By Night on Wednesday, May 16. 

The Awards ceremony is set to be hosted by Odette Mercy and will feature performances from The Justin Walshe Folk Machine, Feels and J.F.K, and DJ Chicken Wing (Kester Sappho) will be spinning tunes.

John Bennett has scored three nominations for his track Country Is Calling in the Best Country, Best Regional and Best Indigenous categories. Bolt Gun, Carla Geneve, Coin Banks, Farraday’s Cage, J.F.K, Riley Pearce, Tangled Thoughts Of Leaving and Ziggy Ramo all have two nominations to their name.

Here’s the full list of nominees:

Best Blues/Roots:
The Fire Inside Farraday’s Cage
Ghost Kat Wilson Trio
Hometown Blues Minky G and Rosco
Ask For It Tracey Barnett
Lies Carus Thompson

Best Country:
What Am I Fighting For Jasmine Atkins
Country Is Calling John Bennett
Wanted Man Kim Wainwright
The Great Escape The Justin Walshe Folk Machine
Maybe I’m Just In Love The Little Lord Street Band

Best Electronic:
Juxtapose Corbelle
Bitter Lake Doublethink Prism
Prior Engagement Feels
Formlessness Mayhills
Calling Ukiyo

Best Experimental:
Man is Wolf to Man Part 1 Bolt Gun
Unveiled feeding | ear
The One Intenso
Bering (Foreboding) samarobryn
No Tether Tangled Thoughts of Leaving

Best Folk:
Friends I Want to Tell You (On My Mind) Bill Lawrie
Red Rocks Carla Geneve
Trains And Submarines Carus Thompson
I Only Hide Helen Shanahan
Misplaced Riley Pearce

Best Heavy/Metal:
Man is Wolf to Man Part 2 Bolt Gun
Uncharted Make Them Suffer
Quantum Umbrella Nucleust
Stuck Odditry
The Alarmist Tangled Thoughts of Leaving
Red Light Ultra Sound

Best Jazz:
Manzer Fesse 457 World Jazz
Onward and Upward Daniel Susnjar Afro-Peruvian Jazz Group
Don’t Stop Here Harry Mitchell
Catalyst Kate Pass Kohesia Ensemble
Tony Umbridge MFG

Outstanding Indigenous:
Country Is Calling John Bennett
Culture Child JoKeria
Little Country Town Lullabies and Legacies
Wangkatjungka Woman Rocky Ridge Band
Same Script Ziggy Ramo

Outstanding Regional:
Red Rocks Carla Geneve
The Mountain Harry Jakamarra
Country Is Calling John Bennett
Three Stories to the Truth Short & Curly
Here and Now Tanya Ransom

Best Pop:
Love Decline Abbe May
Forgive Us (feat. The WAAPA Gospel Choir) Coin Banks
A Boy And A Boy J.F.K
Misplaced Riley Pearce
Boys Will Be Boys Stella Donnelly

Best Punk/Hardcore:
Back To The Grey Hope Street
Make It Right Incomplete
Witch Los Solos
Stupefied The Bible Bashers
Magic Glove The Bob Gordons

Best Rock:
Truthless BATS
Ashes Camarano
A Boy And A Boy J.F.K
Critical The Tommyhawks
Coping Treehouses

Best Urban/Hip Hop:
It’s Usually Sunny in Perth Bluntfield
Be Real (feat. Danny Martin) Coin Banks
Navigator Dead Tooth
Money For Portraits POW! Negro
Same Script Ziggy Ramo

Best World:
Same Drum Akolkol Dastan Gesa
Blah Brassika
FANM Grace Barbé
Binar Phil Walley-Stack
Clarity Rastatrix

Schools 14 & Under:
Walls Darcey Morton
The Fire Inside Farraday’s Cage
New Slate Lily Kate and Amelia Grace
Sometimes Luna Rozza
I Rise Sienna Eddy

Schools 15-17:
Hannah Dexter Wright
Ear To Lend Figurehead
Timeghost hachi
The Stockman’s Grandson Lachy John
Now I’m Here MALi JO$E

WAM Song of the Year Awards Party hits the Fly By Night Club on Wednesday, May 16.