« x »



Having already exposed the songwriting talents and boosted the careers of Methyl Ethel, Tired Lion, KUČKA, Mathas, Timothy Nelson, Beni Bjah and many more in recent years, it’s again time to cast eyes (and ears!) on WA’s next crop of stars in the making. Yes, it’s time to reveal the 2016-17 nominees for WAM Song Of The Year, WA’s premier songwriting competition, and one of Australia’s biggest.

Vying for a share in over $40,000 worth in prizes over 16 categories covering all genres, leading the pack is Riley Pearce (pictured above) with three nominations. Scoring two noms are Bill Lawrie, The Brow, The Decline, Harry Mitchell, The Intenso Band, Kate Pass Kohesia Ensemble, Lilt, Morgan Bain, Rag n’ Bone, Scalphunter and The Struggling Kings. See the full list below.

Winners will be revealed at an epic WAM Song Of The Year Awards Party on Wednesday May 17. This year’s party will be another harbourside sunset soiree, debuting at the WA Maritime Museum with MC Magnus Danger Magnus, DJ Charlie Bucket, The Money War, Ben Matthews Presents LIVEWYRE and Fremantle local Dan Howls, all guaranteed to keep the good times rolling.

Entries have been anonymously and independently assessed by music industry experts from all over Australia – and the world! Our latest judges to come on board include Paul Harding (Pendulum – UK), Fiona Kitschin (The Drones – VIC) and Rob Younger (Radio Birdman – NSW).


Sponsored by Clancy’s Fish Pub Fremantle
Studio sponsor Shanghai Twang Studios
Carus Thompson Beach Fires
Dan Howls The Prince
Jordan McRobbie Candle
Mark Turner Yes I Do
Michael Ellis Time For Change

Sponsored by Country Music Club of Boyup Brook WA
Studio sponsor Fremantle Recording Studios
Belle Harvey Bridges Burn
Bill Lawrie Dalwallinu Hotel
Helen Townsend & Bill Chambers Promised Land
Ralway Bell Caught In The Crossfire
The Jackson Roses Can’t Find You

Sponsored by City of Fremantle
Studio sponsor Tone City Recording Studio
Lilt Ghosts
Out of the Blue Vice
Shyguy Had It I’m Hiding
Lilt Wait No More
Tobacco Rat Infra

Sponsored by Firestarter Distribution
Studio sponsor Blackbird Studio
Gravy Murphy The World Is Your Moisture
The Intenso Band As Steadfast As The Ether Itself
Jameson Feakes A Window In Sicily
Samarobryn The Road Is My River
The Intenso Band A Small Margin of Terror

Sponsored by Nannup Music Festival
Studio sponsor Artisan Music
Bill Lawrie Always Be The Bad Girl In This Town
Nicky Sandover Orange Tree
Riley Pearce Circles
Riley Pearce Seasick
These Winter Nights Heart’s On Fire

Sponsored by Spotify
Studio sponsor Sumo Sound
Kimura Book Of The Dead
Nucleust Of King & Tree
Shimmergloom Smithereens
St James Sirens Empires Fall
The Decline Can’t Have Both

Sponsored by The Ellington Jazz Club
Studio sponsor Crank Recording
Ben Matthews Esperanzish
Daniel Susnjar Afro-Peruvian Jazz Group Where Would I Be Without You
Harry Mitchell Gabba The Hut
Harry Mitchell Ignacio
Kate Pass Kohesia Ensemble Point Of Departure

Sponsored by Noongar Radio
Studio sponsor Foxhole Studios
The Brownley Gospel Singers The Man Of Calvary
Desert Stars Ngurra Nyangatja (Our Home)
The Struggling Kings Ardyaloon (Guligool)
The Struggling Kings Oceans
Platform 2 Faultline

Sponsored by APRA AMCOS
Studio sponsor Sonic Lolly
Codee-Lee Heart Is A Compass
Valentine Can’t Shake You
Kado Muir & LYC Crew feat. KJ I Choose To Be Free (The Mamu Tjiitjii Song)
Julie Kember Gypsy Woman
Like A Thief Take Me Back

Sponsored by Cool Perth Nights/Mojos
Studio sponsor Debaser Studio
Lucy Peach Silver Tongue
Morgan Bain Summed It Up
Riley Pearce Outside The Lines
Sydnee Carter When We Were Young
The Brow Circles

Sponsored by Perfect Pitch Publishing
Studio sponsor Templeman Audio
Blindspot Thin Ice
Rag N’ Bone Pissy Flow
Scalphunter Men With Square Eyes
Scalphunter A Lie They Call The Truth
The Decline Can’t Have Both

Sponsored by Badlands Bar
Studio sponsor Poons Head Studios
High Horse Carbon Copy
Mt. Mountain Moon Desire
Our Man In Berlin A Lightbulb Mind
Rag N’ Bone Pissy Flow
The Money War Recall

Sponsored by RØDE
Studio sponsor Vision Studios
Farraday’s Cage Meaning Of Life
Hachi f i r e e s c a p e
Idgie All Those Lies Fall In
Lily Kate Empty Road
Toby Jonah Cinnamon

SCHOOLS 15 – 17
Sponsored by Diskbank
Studio sponsor Underground Studios
Belgrade Me
Burdiya Mob Djarliny
Charlotte Viney Young & Reckless
Megan Grace I Wanna Go Back
Siobhan Cotchin All Night All Right

Sponsored by Audiofly
Studio sponsor Shake Down Studio
Bluntfield The Soap Box
Chiseko Juice
Macshane Meant To Do
Morgan Bain Summed It Up
The Brow Circles

Sponsored by Fairbridge Festival
Studio sponsor Rada Studios
56 Hope Road Justice
Barefeet Sojourns Run Run
Brassika Roll Your Eyes
Jere Sosa Taste Of Honey
Kate Pass Kohesia Ensemble Point Of Departure

« x »