« x »

WAM Festival 2014

wam festival logoAfter a rebranding in 2013 saw 15,000 attendees satisfied, the WAM Festival is evolving again, packing a more focused local music punch. This year’s additions come with the Block Party, the WA Music Awards moving to Capitol, the WA Music Craft Awards to the State Theatre Courtyard, the WA Music Conference to be held at Central Institute of Technology (CIT) Perth Campus on the Friday and Saturday; and the Saturday Spectacular providing enhanced opportunities to access the cream of the crop, for both industry and punters alike.

There will also be plenty of talented artists. Of course! Kicking off the WAM Festival, the opening party will be featuring Mt Mountain, Usurper of Modern Medicine, Pat Chow, Tired Lion, Hideous Sun Demon, Fait, Scalphunter and DJ Jamie Mac. Tickets are $15 from and Moshtix, and $20 at the door. Free entry is offered to WA Music Conference Pass holders.

This year’s WA Music Conference will offer its delegates plenty of additional benefits, including priority entry to free events that are

guaranteed to fill up, and free entry to all ticketed events that fall under the rather large WAM Festival umbrella, including

WAM Festival Sideshows, the WA Music Awards, the Opening Party and more. This year’s panels will look at topics ranging from

securing radio airplay to distributing releases, gender battles, social media trends, DIY touring tips for Australia and Asia,

and beyond!

Keynote and additional speakers will soon be announced, the first release includes:

Adam Christou (RTRFM)

Al Dawson (Earache Records, US)

Alex Paioff (Pilerats Records/Circo/Metric)

Bailey Lions (Lionizer)

Bel Skinner (Red Rock Music)

Bob Gordon (X-Press Magazine)

Bryte MC

Candice Lorrae (Abmusic)

Clive Hodson (Perfect Pitch Publishing)

Damian Cunningham (National Live Music Office)

Danny Estrin (Estrin & Saul)

Esti Zilber (Sounds Australia)

Gina Williams

Hayley-Jane Ayers (Cool Perth Nights)

Heath Bradby (Warner Music Australia)

Jake Snell (Monster Management/AAM)

Johnny Au (The AU Review)

Jordan Campbell (The Harbour Agency)

Kat Murphy (Retro Robot Services)

Katie Rynne (Select Music)

Larry Heath (The AU Review)

Luke Rinaldi (Sweet Mate Music)

Matt Johnson (Walking Horse Music)

Michael Szumowski (Alberts)

Nick O’Byrne (BIGSOUND/Look Out Kid)

Pete Guazzelli (Department of Culture and the Arts)

Reggie Ba-Pe (S.T.D./Arcade/Arkham/R3, China)

Scott Fitzsimmons (

Stephen King (Media Arts Lawyers)

Yvette Myhill (AAM)



Earlybirdtickets on sale via Moshtix ’til 5pm Friday, October 10, $130 for WAM members | $160 non-members. Second release ‘til 5pm Thursday, November 6, $160 for WAM members | $200 non-members.

There’s more announcements to come, in the meantime check out

« x »