« x »


Fans of The National already had reason to be excited about guitarist Bryce Dessner‘s new album Planetarium alongside Sufjan Stevens, Nico Muhly, and James McAlister which is set for release on June 9. Check out the first single HERE.

Now, The National have shared a video that could be a teaser for their next album, which includes the words (lyrics?) “Sleep Well Beast” and “The System Only Dreams in Total Darkness”. Could this mean the follow up to 2013’s Trouble Will Find Me is imminent? Now that their website has been updated to include the video and the words “Sleep Well Beast”, we’re banking on that one being the album title.

Last year the band debuted a new song, Prom Song 13th Century (Frankie & Johnny) featuring St Vincent live (check it out HERE), while vocalist Matt Berninger discussed the band’s next album in interviews saying, “It’s about marriage, and it’s about marriages falling apart” and hinted that it would feature more electronic arrangements.

UPDATE: The National have announced their seventh album Sleep Well Beast will be released Friday, September 8. First single The System Only Dreams in Total Darkness is out now, check it out below.

« x »