« x »

More WAM Festival Details Unveiled

apacheWe’re mighty proud to announce details of the X-Press Launch Stage at the PICA Bar & Amphitheatre as part of the WAM Festival’s Saturday Spectacular. 44th Sunset, Antelope, Apache, Emperors, Greyjoy, Husband, Sons of Rico, Sugar Army, Sugarpuss, Tired Lion plus one more special guest to be announced, will be heading that one up from 8pm on Saturday, November 9, supported by the City of Perth.

WAM have also announced half of the all-day line-up happening across the Urban Orchard, the Emerging Artists Wetlands stage, plus Northbridge venues The Bird, YaYa’s, Mustang Bar, Universal Bar,
The Bakery, Beat Nightclub and The Brass Monkey.

You’ll be able to check out the likes of China Doll, Daramad, Diger Rokwell, Kučka, Lo & Behold, Ruby Boots, Sid Pattni, The Ghost Hotel (all WAM Song Of The Year nominees, incidentally),  Andrew Winton, Autopilot, Bastian’s Happy Flight, China Doll, Dead Owls, Dianas, Dux n Downtown, Emperors, Ensemble Formidable, Everyteen, FAIM, Flower Drums, Kill Teen Angst, Leeches, Man The Clouds, Mezzanine, MmHmmm, Mt. Mountain, Naik, Pimps Of Sound, Puck, Pumba, Race To Your Face, Red Engine Caves, Scalphunter, Simone & Girlfunkle, Stoney Joe, The Amani Consort, The Coalminers Sect, The Community Chest, The Justin Walshe Folk Machine, The Weapon Is Sound, Tired Lion, Trigger Jackets, Valdaway and Vida Cain. More announcements will be made next week.

WAM have also released details of the Music Conference, taking place across various Northbridge venues on Thursday-Friday, November 7-8. Keynote speakers will be Adalita, Catherine Haridy and industry guru Michael Chugg. The new announcement of delegates includes Adam Trainer (RTRFM 92.1), Allegra Caldwell (InSync – NSW), Andy Rantzen (Australia Council for the Arts – NSW), Annmarie McMath (I Hear Motion – VIC), Becc Bates (Arts South Australia – SA), Bob Gordon (X-Press Magazine), Cam Merton (Hidden Shoal Recordings), Chloe Goodyear (Woodford Folk Festival – QLD), Clive Hodson (Perfect Pitch Publishing – NSW), Danny Rogers (St. Jerome’s Laneway/Lunatic Entertainment – NSW), Darren de Mello (96FM), David Chitty (Sunset Events), Dom Alessio & Lewis McKirdy (Triple J – NSW), Emily Lubitz (Tinpan Orange – VIC), Evan Alexander (Heapsaflash – QLD), Grace Barbé, Hayley Dart (Country Arts WA), John Wardle (National Live Music Office – NSW), Kate Mills (Native Tongue – VIC), Kurt Beaudoin (Meerkats), Leon Ewing (WAM), Luke Rinaldi (Sweet Mate Music), Mama Kin, Meg Williams (AAM – NSW), Michael Szumovski (Alberts – NSW), Millie Millgate (Sounds Australia – NSW), Nicholas Jones (Tone Deaf – VIC), Noah Shilkin (Sonic Lolly), Paul Cashmere (The Noise Network – VIC), Pete Guazzelli (Department of Culture and the Arts), Samantha Nakhoul (WSOU – USA), Simon Collins (The West Australian/The Wire), Steve Kulak (Fuse Music Group – NSW) and Will Lanarch-Jones (Parallel Management – NSW).

Keep an eye on for updates. The public voting for the WAM Awards are now open, courtesy of our colleagues at

Pic: Apache


« x »