JASON ISBELL New album The Nashville Sound


American Songwriter says “There’s no better songwriter on the planet at this moment”. Grammy Award-winning singer, songwriter and guitarist Jason Isbell and his band The 400 Unit have announced the release of their highly anticipated new album, The Nashville Sound out June 16.

The Nashville Sound is the follow up to 2015’s critically acclaimed Something More Than Free, which won two Grammy Awards (Best Americana Album & Best American Roots Song, 24 Frames) and two Americana Music Association Awards (Album of the Year & Song of The Year, 24 Frames).

Without exaggeration, Jason Isbell has become one the most respected and celebrated songwriters of his generation. He possesses an incredible penchant for identifying and articulating some of the deepest, simplest, human emotions, and turning them into beautiful poetry through song. Isbell sings of the every day human condition with thoughtful, heartfelt, and sometimes brutal honesty, and the new album is no exception.

The Nashville Sound features 10 new songs that address a range of real life subject matters that include, politics and cultural privilege (White Man’s World) longing nostalgia (The Last Of My Kind), love and mortality (If We Were Vampires), and the toxic effect of today’s pressures (Anxiety).

The Nashville Sound was recorded at Nashville’s legendary RCA Studio A and produced by Grammy Award-winner Dave Cobb, who produced Something More Than Free and Isbell’s celebrated 2013 breakthrough album Southeastern. The Nashville Sound is the first official Jason Isbell and the 400 Unit album since 2011’s Here We Rest. The 400 Unit features Derry deBorja (keyboards), Chad Gamble (drums), Jimbo Hart (bass), Amanda Shires (fiddle) and Sadler Vaden (guitar).