AUSTRALIAN MUSIC PRIZE Money War, Stella Donnelly, Pond, Methyl Ethel nominated

The Money War
The annual Australian Music Prize (AMP) is here again in its 15th year with the 2019 albums nominations now hitting 41 and the final winner set to be announced in March 2020.

With the selected albums to be joined by many more to be announced over the coming three months, this year’s expanded cohort of 39 judges have produced what is shaping up to be the most diverse and creative list yet including new buzz acts like Cub Sport, Thelma Plum, Amyl & the Sniffers, Dope Lemon and Alex Lahey, along with some of Australia’s legends such as Jimmy Barnes, Robert Forster and more.

In particular we’d like to congratulate the WA nominees: The Money War (pictured above), Stella Donnelly, Pond, and Methyl Ethel.

The Australian Music Prize nominates the best albums of the year judging artistic merit only and with no reference to commercial success. At the end of 2019 a shortlist of nine albums are chosen, then finally the announcement of the winner along with a $30,000 cash prize early next year. Here’s the shortlist to date, in alphabetical order:

Alex Lahey — The Best of Luck Club
Amyl & the Sniffers — Amyl & the Sniffers
Andrea Keller — Transients Volume 1
Art of Fighting — Luna Low
Batts — The Grand Tour
Bench Press — Not the Past, Can’t Be the Future
Black Lung — The Great Manipulator
Charlie Collins — Snowpine
Cub Sport — Cub Sport
Daggy Man — I’m Going To Love As Long As I Live
Dispossessed — Warpath Never Ended
Dope Lemon — Smooth Big Cat
Emma Russack — Winter Blues
Ferla — It’s Personal
Gold Fields — Dalawa
Hatchie – Keepsake
Hexdebt — Rule Of Four
Huntly — Low Grade Buzz
I Know Leopard — Love Is A Landmine
Jess Ribeiro — Love Hate
Jimmy Barnes — My Criminal Record
Julia Jacklin — Crushing
King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard — Fishing for Fishies
Mansionair — Shadowboxer
Martin Frawley — Undone At 31
Methyl Ethel — Triage
Olympia — Flamingo
Polish Club — Iguana
Pond — Tasmania
Robert Forster — Inferno
Russell Morris — Black & Blue Heart
Ry X — Unfurl
Sarah Mary Chadwick — Queen Who Stole The Sky
Squaring Circles — Motion
Stella Donnelly — Beware of the Dogs
Sunbeam Sound Machine — Goodness Gracious
The Beasts — Still Here
The Money War — Home
Thelma Plum — Better In Blak
Two People — First Body
Vulture St. Tape Gang — More Mature Themes For Childish People
+ more to be announced

For more info and the full list of Australian Music Prize nominees head to